Friday, December 3, 2010

Driver's Education Courses

Each state is allowed to make their own laws regarding driver's education. States like Missouri don't require any courses at all, while others, like Washington, require a great deal of time behind the wheel before they are able to get into that driver's seat alone. Teen driver's education is essential. Young and inexperienced drivers are more susceptible to getting in accidents than any other age groups. Insurance companies recognize that teens can be high risk for financial damage. Therefore young people trying to obtain licenses will have to show that they have had the proper instruction to help them drive safely.

At age 15, a teen in Washington is allowed to apply for a permit. When they obtain the permit, they are allowed to take a Traffic Safety Education course (TSE). Passing this course is required for those applying for a license under the age of 18. The requirements for passing this course include,
  • 30 hours of classroom instruction (Not more than 2/day)
  • 6 hours behind the wheel (Not more than 1/day)
  • 1 hour of observation
  • No alcohol related charges or traffic violations within 6 months of applying for license
  • If 16, the permit must have been held for at least 4 months before applying for a license
  • 50 hours drive time, 10 of which at night, with parent or other license adult in car
Nothing can make up for experience on the road. Even auto insurance companies know this. Therefore insurance rates will probably be more expensive no matter what kind of courses the driver has completed. However, showing that a young person has received thorough instruction of the rules and dangers of the road, insurance providers may be willing to alter their rates.

8 comments:

  1. wow that is so nuts, georgia wasnt like that at all when i got my license

    ReplyDelete
  2. i get a 6% off my insurance for passing the course

    ReplyDelete
  3. I got my license when I was seventeen. I lived in Minnesota. Mostly due to busy schedules and laziness.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've got my license for 5 years yet never bought a car (didn't need one badly enough). I have been driving my parents car all this time however. It sucks that I still have to pay the beginners premium when I do buy a car.

    ReplyDelete
  5. i think 15 is too young to be driving, even with just a learner's permit.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Drivers also must aware of the rules of the safe and secure driving. In USA different state had different auto insurance rules. Chicago Auto Insurance, Texas Auto insurance etc their state wise rules and regulation are different. SR22 Insurance are really beneficial to drivers, high risk drivers must choose better insurance policies.

    ReplyDelete